51st festival - Successs for Woking College

The 2012 Elmbridge Drama Festival drew to a close on Saturday 10th March at the recall and awards evening, after three previous evenings of competitive drama expertly assessed by Helen Sharman, Guild of Drama Adjudicators.

The event was held in it’s traditional home and the newly refurbished and re-named Cecil Hepworth Playhouse proved well suited to the competitive drama productions and provided an enhanced audience experience.

The festival was the 51st held since it’s inception and although the number of entries was down to 6 this year from the usual 8-10 competing groups the adjudicator complimented the competing drama groups on the variety and overall quality of performance.

The Mayor of Elmbridge, Councillor John Sheldon attended the final recall evening and praised the two plays, presented by Park Players and Woking College Theatre Company.

In his summary, the Festival Chairman reflected on the loss, since the preceding festival, of Edward Hubbard, Richard Davis, John Watford and Jane Walters who had all contributed hugely to the history and past successes of the festival.

The principal award winners are listed below :

  • Best Play Woking College Theatre Company

  • Runners Up Runnymede Drama Group

  • Best Director Claire Nevers & Gina MarshallWoking College Theatre Company

  • Best Actor David WebbRunnymede Drama Group

  • Best Actress Sue VineyPark Players

  • Adjudicators Trophy Cast of Sparkleshark Riverside Youth Theatre

The winners and 2011 defending champions Woking College will now compete in the Eastern area (semi final) of the All England Theatre Festival to be held at the Barn Theatre Oxted, on 26th & 27th May. Ticket details are available from Martin Patrick (martinpatrick@btinternet.com )

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2017 Elmbridge Arts Council